Thursday, October 4, 2007

Where to buy locally grown food in San Francisco?

A mom from the Golden Gate Mother's group just posted an excellent summary on the Yahoo! Groups list with all the places to buy local food in the San Francisco area. Here's the summary:

PRODUCE

1. CSA (Community Supported Agriculture) a weekly/bi-weekly/monthly delivery service of fresh produce that goes directly from the farmer to you.
2. Eatwell Farms (also delivers eggs) http://www.eatwell.com/
3. Two Small Farms http://www.twosmallfarms.com/
4. Capay Farms http://www.farmfreshtoyou.com
5. Terra Firma http://www.terrafirmafarms.com
6. Mariquita Farms http://www.mariquita.com/
7. Eating with the Seasons http://www.eatwiththeseasons.com/
8. Organic Express (I tried this service and didn't like it.) http://www.organicexpress.com
9. Planet Organics http://www.planetorganics.com


MEAT

1. Marin Sun Farms (beef, pork, chicken, lamb) http://marinsunfarms.com/
2. Clark Summit Farm (pork, beef and chicken)
3. Prather Ranch (beef, pork, lamb, chicken) http://www.prmeatco.com
4. Rosie and Rocky Chicken http://www.petalumapoultry.com/
5. Drewes Brothers Meats (1706 Church) http://www.drewesbros.com
6. Guerra Meats (490 Taraval) http://guerrameats.com
7. Morris Grassfed Beef http://www.morrisgrassfed.com
8. Chileno Valley Ranch http://www.chilenobeef.com
9. Avedano's (235 Cortland ) http://www.avedanos.com/


DAIRY

1. Strauss Family Creamery (milk, yogurt, butter, ice cream) http://www.strausfamilycreamery.com
2. Cowgirl Creamery (cheese) http://www.cowgirlcreamery.com/
3. Point Reyes Cheese http://www.pointreyescheese.com
4. Clover-Stornetta http://www.cloverstornetta.com
5. Claravale Farm (raw milk) http://www.claravalefarm.com
6. Organic Pastures (Raw milk, butter, cheese) http://organicpastures.com
7. St Benoit Yogurt http://www.stbenoit.com/
8. Achadinha (goat cheese) http://www.achadinha.com/
9. Andante Dairy (cheese) http://www.andantedairy.com


FARMER'S MARKETS

1. Ferry Building Market http://www.ferrybuildingmarketplace.com/
2. Ferry Plaza Farmer's Market (Tues and Sat) http://www.cuesa.org/markets/
3. Alemany Farmer's Market (Saturdays)
4. Fillmore Farmer's Market (Sat) http://pcfma.com/marketdetail.php?market_id=13
5. Noe Valley Farmer's Market (Sat)http://noevalleyfarmersmarket.com/


MARKETS

1. Bi-Rite ( 3639 18 th St ) http://www.biritemarket.com
2. Rainbow (1745 Fulton ) http://www.rainbowgrocery.org
3. Andronico's (1200 Irving Street) http://www.andronicos.com
4. Whole Foods


WEBSITES

1. Center for Urban Education About Sustainable Agriculture. Includes
list of farmers markets, farmers, etc. http://www.cuesa.org
2. SF Gate article about buying meat directly from the ranch
3. California directory of grass fed foods
4. Info on eating food grown or harvested locally http://www.locavores.com
5. Deconstructing Dinner podcast http://www.cjly.net/deconstructingdinner/about.htm
6. Living a greener lifestyle in SF (by a GGMG mom) http://www.urbancrunchymama.com
7. Local blog regarding sustainable, organic, local food http://www.ethicurean.com
8. Chow Hound discussion of local CSAs
9. Local Slow Food organization http://www.slowfoodsanfrancisco.com

1 Comment:

Green Lorene said...

Hey Honey...Spinach and Honey that is-hehe.

I just subscribed to your blog. How could I not? You listed my business as a place to buy local produce-yeah!! And did you know that Planet Organics (that's my biz) also carries loads of local sustainable groceries as well? In fact, many of the companies you listed are companies I carry; Cowgirl Creamery, Marin Sun Farms, Petaluma Poultry, Straus Family Creamery, to name just a few.


I'm looking forward to receiving your blog. I just started one myself and being an inexperienced blogger I'll look forward to getting some pointers from reading yours.:)


Have a great day and thanks for mentioning my company on your blog as a source for Small Local Food Purveyors. That's our goal!


Keep up the good work on getting the message out about staying local!


Peace


~ Green Lorene

Follow, Share, and Tweet Me!

Follow Me on Pinterest Share on Tumblr
Related Posts with Thumbnails